initial observations, issues and questions2018-04-23T20:42:37+00:00

Forums Niryo One Troubleshooting initial observations, issues and questions

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello Niryo One Team,

Thank you for carefully preparing the assembled robot for safe transport to the other side of the world!

In addition to testing the basic movement of all 6 axises on the arm that I reported last week by email, I have attached a gripper to the arm and done some preliminary tests of its functionality. I am by no means an expert (like all of you) about robots, so please forgive the naivety of my questions. Also, please excuse my posting so many questions at once, but I thought it would be best to list out my initial observations, issues and questions based on some experimentation with Niryo One with the Niryo One Studio software.

1. fan in base is very noisy

I will post a video in the next few days to give you an idea of how noisy it is, but I don’t notice a similar noise in any of the videos that you have posted on your Youtube channel. Perhaps in shipment part of the base interior is too close to the fan blades or there is something loose in the base that is being caused to vibrate due to the fan. I am planning to review the assembly diagrams to make sure I am familiar how to disassemble the base and investigate the cause further.

2. “gear grinding” during calibration

I need to review this in detail as I maneuver the robot more times (as far whether there is a pattern about particular axises, etc.). I hear some of the stepper motors “grinding” or slipping. It appears to be associated with an axis that has reached the upper or lower limit (again I’m not sure about this due to my lack of familiarity). I will endeavor to post more detail in a subsequent post and consider attaching a video.

3. lurching (non-smooth) movement on some axises